Skip to main content


Showing posts from February, 2015

2015 Grammy Award Winners

2015 Grammy Award Winners
ALBUM OF THE YEAR • Morning Phase, Beck
RECORD OF THE YEAR • "Stay With Me (Darkchild Version)," Sam Smith
SONG OF THE YEAR • "Stay With Me (Darkchild Version)," James Napier, William Phillips & Sam Smith, songwriters (Sam Smith)
BEST POP SOLO PERFORMANCE • "Happy," Pharrell Williams
BEST POP DUO/GROUP PERFORMANCE • "Say Something," A Great Big World With Christina Aguilera
BEST TRADITONAL POP VOCAL ALBUM • Cheek To Cheek, Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
• In The Lonely Hour, Sam Smith BEST DANCE RECORDING • "Rather Be," Clean Bandit Featuring Jess Glynne
BEST CONTEMPORARY INSTRUMENTAL ALBUM • Bass & Mandolin, Chris Thile & Edgar Meyer
BEST ROCK PERFORMANCE • "Lazaretto," Jack White
BEST METAL PERFORMANCE • "The Last In Line," Tenacious D
BEST ROCK SONG • "Ain't It Fun," Hayley Williams & Taylor Y…

"The DUFF" promotion and raffle!

CBS Films has graciously given us some great promotional items for the upcoming movie "The DUFF." 

We have free advance screening passes at the Circulation Desk, posters & booklets in the Teen Scene, and a display of books up for you to check out.

In addition, they sent us two copies of the book to raffle. off. Upload a photo of a sign with your positive traits and add the hashtag #TheDuff. Two will be randomnly chosen to win the books!

2015 American Library Association Book Award Winners

American Library Association announces 2015 youth media award winners

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Awardrecognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:
“Brown Girl Dreaming,” written by Jacqueline Woodson, is the King Author Book winner.
Three King Author Honor Books were selected:
Kwame Alexander for “The Crossover.”
“Marilyn Nelson for “How I Discovered Poetry.”
Kekla Magoon for “How It Went Down.”

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award:
“When I Was the Greatest,” written and illustrated by Jason Alexander, is the Steptoe winner.

Michael L. Printz Awardfor excellence in literature written for young adults:
“I’ll Give You the Sun,” written by Jandy Nelson, is the 2015 Printz Award winner.
Four Printz Honor Books also were named:
“And We Stay,” by Jenny Hubbard
“The Carnival at Bray,” by Jessie Ann Foley
“Grasshopper Jungle,” by Andrew Smith
“This One Summer,” by Mariko Tamaki
Schneider Family Book Awardfor books that …