Skip to main content

Posts

Tween Read-Alikes

Love Captain Underpants but have read them all? Here are some read-alikes you may enjoy as well as suggestions for other read-alikes for those books you've really enjoyed in the past.


Captain Underpants by Dav Pilkey


Read-alikes:


The Bad Guys by Aaron Blabey
Battle Bunny by Jon Scieszka and Mac Barnett
Lunch Lady and the Cyborg Substitute by Jarrett Krosoczka
The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett


The House with a Clock in Its Walls by John Bellairs


Read-alikes:


The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snickett
The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls by Claire Legrand
Spirit Hunters by Ellen Oh




A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L' Engle

Read-alikes:


The Glass Sentence by S. E. Grove
Once Was a Time by Leila Sales
When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead


His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman


Read-alikes:


Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu
The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
Rebel Genius by Michael Dante


Mortal Engines by Philip Reeve


Read-alikes:


Airborn by Kenneth Oppel
Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld
Worldshaker b…
Recent posts

“Get Caught Reading” with Free Posters

Launched in 1999 by the AAP and now managed by Every Child a Reader, Get Caught Reading provides posters of TV stars, famous athletes, authors, and beloved book characters reading a book.


The first new poster for 2019 features Olympic gold medalist and author Laurie Hernandez, and is available now for free, thanks to a sponsorship by KPMG, whose citizenship mission is to encourage lifelong learning through literacy.


Laurie Hernandez’s new book, She’s Got This, illustrated by Nina Mata, is a picture book about chasing your dreams and never giving up, and is being published October 9 by HarperCollins Children’s Books.


Ask a Youth Services Librarian for a free poster while supplies last!















The Best Middle School Books of 2018

Kirkus Reviews just released their list of the Best Middle Grade Books of 2018 today! Check out this wonderful list below, separated into the following categories by Kirkus.
Fantasy
The House with Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson (Scholastic)The Turnaway Girls by Hayley Chewins (Candlewick)Aru Shah and the End of Time by Roshani Chokshi (Rick Riordan Presents/Disney)A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano (Walden Pond Press/HarperCollins)The Language of Spells by Garret Weyr, Illus. Katie Harnett (Chronicle)
 Mystery & Suspense 
Small Spaces by Katherine Arden (Putnam)The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle by Leslie Connor (Katherine Tegen/HarperCollins)The Ghost Road by Charis Cotter (Tundra)Otherwood by Pete Hautman (Candlewick)The Parker Inheritance by Varian Johnson (Levine/Scholastic)
 Graphic Novels
Akissi: Tales of Mischief by Marguerite Abouet, Illus. Mathieu Sapin, Trans. Judith Taboy & Marie Bédrune (Flying Eye Books)Sanity & Tallulah by Molly Brooks (Disney-Hyperion)Illegal by Eo…

Scholarship Databases

For those who are college bound, here are some free scholarship databases:




College Board's Scholarship Search
(bigfuture.collegeboatrd.org/scholarship-search)


Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute National Directory of Scholarships, Internships, and Fellowships
(https://www.chcinextopp.net)


Fastweb.com (fastweb.com)


FinAid ( finaid.com)


MSU Libraries: Grants for Individuals
(staff.lib.msu.edu/harris32/grants/3subject.htm)


New Visions for Public Schools Scholarship Opportunities
(newvisions.org/pages/scholarship-opportunities)


Peterson's (https://www.petersons.com/college-search/scholarship-search.aspx)


Cappex (www.cappex.com/scholarships)
-sorts by deadlines


Unigo (www.unigo.com)


Chegg Scholarships.com


Scholarships.com


Niche (www.niche.com/colleges/scholarships/)


JVL College Counseling
(https://jlvcollegecounseling.com/scholarships/)


Check them out today!

The Book- and More- Is in the Mail by Kelly Jensen, SLJ

These YA subscription services offer new titles, community, and fun extras.


The thrill of book subscription boxes is discovering titles and connecting with other readers. Curated boxes contain books that subscribers might otherwise overlook, and "Unboxing" blog posts and videos connect readers, who can communicate with one another about the boxes, and other books they love.


Here's a look at some YA-focused boxes.

FairyLoot 
With a focus on fantasy, each themed FairyLoot box includes a book plus a small selection of items such as specially made scarves, quote prints, and even a Funko POP! A recent package with a
"Whimsical Journeys" theme contained Jessica Leake's Beyond a Darkened Shore".
Cost: About $35 plus shipping. Three- and six-month prepaid subscription plans available.

LitJoy Crate
This box includes  one new release, along with 2 to 4 items. A recent box "Upon Her Throne" 
included Rebecca Ross' The Queen's Rising, an exclusiv…

What's an Appropriate Curfew for High Schoolers?

Parents Magazine, Jan Faull, MEd, on deciding on a high school curfew for teens.

My sophomore loves to go to parties with juniors and seniors and to stay out late. What's an appropriate curfew for a sophomore in high school? A. It's time to put on your power-parenting persona and open up curfew negotiations. There's no need to worry too much, because deep in your teens' heart, he really wants a reasonable and somewhat flexible curfew. When your teen is out with friends, tired and ready to go home -- or just plain not liking the social scene -- it's difficult to say, "I'm tired, I'm going home." It's easier to say, "My curfew is 12:30. I'll be grounded if I'm not home soon." Despite this fact, you need to bear up as your son, like any self-respecting teenager, will probably moan, stomp, and gripe while claiming, "None of my friends have curfews. You're a control freak." Let your son go on as such, it's his teen…

How to Talk to Your Child About Losing Weight

Does your child need to lose weight? We'll help you talk about it without hurting her feelings. By Jeannette Moninger from  Talking About the Problem For parents of the 25 million overweight or obese kids in the U.S., it's a common dilemma: If your child is fat, she probably knows it. Classmates may tease her, and she probably thinks her clothes are too tight when she looks in the mirror. So when you broach the topic, it's important to be compassionate. "How you discuss a child's weight problem can make a huge difference in helping her deal with it," says Jamie Calabrese, MD, medical director of the Children's Institute in Pittsburgh and a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Task Force on Obesity. Bring It Up Gently Look for a natural time to talk about your child's weight in a low-key way. After a checkup, you might say, "You heard the doctor say you're gaining weight too quickly. Do you want to talk about what…